Minnesota Association of Family & Consumer Sciences

Minnesota Association of Family & Consumer Sciences

2018 MN Teacher of the Year


Lynsee Mattson

The 2018 MAFCS Teacher of the Year was recently announced by Lori Brumbaugh, who chaired a committee to choose the next Teacher of the Year from the list of nominees.  Lynsee Mattson was selected as the next awardee and will be representing our state at the 2018 AAFCS Conference in Atlanta.  Mattson teaches at the South St. Paul Secondary School, and is beginning a ProStart program there this year.  She incorporates technology into her instruction, such as Google Classroom, and presented a workshop on this topic at the 2017 MAFCS annual conference.  She has served in various capacities with MAFCS, such as co-chairing the Awards and Scholarships committee and as Vice-President of Education.  The project she is highlighting for her national teacher of the year application is “Getting to Know ME,” a unit in her “Living on Your Own” class that goes over personal values and goal setting.   The final project of the class is a vision board creation.  Congratulations, Lynsee!

Minnesota Association of Family & Consumer Sciences

2019 MN Teacher of the Year



Nominate a current MN FACS teacher (or one who has retired in the past 12 months) who has:

  • Created and runs a family and consumer sciences program that has a FCS Curriculum Focus: Examples of curriculum focus include an original, expanded, or substantially modified traditional FCS content area ( as listed below), OR, a teaching emphasis consistently embedded in the nominee's curriculum, i.e. service learning, technology, project based learning, STEM, communications. 
    • Career Awareness/Job Skill Training (e.g., work/study; literacy education; entrepreneurship)
    • Consumer Education/Family Finance (e.g., consumer rights; understanding credit; budgeting and managing money)
    • Creative Dimensions/Alternative Program Designs (e.g., caring for children, the elderly, legislation on family life)
    • Family Life/Personal and Social Development (e.g., alternative family structures such as intervention programming; dealing with grief and death)
    • Nutrition Education/Diet and Health (e.g.,wellness; food science and chemistry; dietary 

Please visit the AAFCS site ( and review the previous National TOY award winners.

Judges are looking for programs that are unique and different than previous TOY winners. 

Basic qualifications for Teacher of the Year are: 

  • Is employed as a full-time permanent FCS teacher of grades kindergarten through 12 or who has retired within twelve months of the AAFCS national nomination deadline – second Monday in January; 
  • Is an AAFCS member at the time of nomination and for at least three consecutive years prior to nomination; 
  • Is willing to enter the National AAFCS Teacher of the Year competition, representing the MN affiliate, by submitting a portfolio of their program by the AAFCS national nomination deadline; attend the National AAFCS Convention where they will be recognized as an Affiliate (MN) TOY or be selected as one of the three merit finalists, one of which will be selected as the National AAFCS Teacher of the Year recipient. The Teacher of the Year is also requested to attend the State Convention in early 2016 to receive their award, present their program and attend a reception in their honor. 


To nominate the 2019 MAFCS TOY, complete the nomination form & supporting documents.

To nominate the 2017 MAFCS TOY, fill out the form on the reverse side and attach your letter of
recommendation. Please submit to Lynsee Mattson at by June 1,

Download the nomination form here!